Share This Post With Friens
The pyramids of Cheops are the first of them. seven wonders of the world And of all its wonders, it is the only one that remains today. It is an impressive monument built by the Egyptians in ancient times. On a square foundation, it was 230 meters on a side and about 150 meters high. It is now slightly smaller due to erosion. This is the tomb of Pharaoh Cheops, who lived during the 4th dynasty about 4,500 years ago and is of almost safe provenance. This pyramid is the largest pyramid ever built on earth, regardless of civilization or era, so it is a curiosity that raises questions about its structure, how it was built, and why it was built. It is the main tomb of and forms part of, the Necropolis on the Giza Plateau near Cairo, the capital of Egypt.


Table of Contents

Pyramids of Cheops -Position

The first of the Seven Wonders of the World is from Egypt and is located in the southwest of Cairo, the capital of Egypt. Once a few kilometers outside the city, it now borders on the rapid urbanization of the megacities. More precisely, the Pyramid of Cheops is one of the pyramids of the Necropolis of Giza. Gyze is an area that designates a particular rocky plateau on which a large cemetery was built during the 4th Dynasty, consisting of several tombs, rock tombs, temples, builders’ villages, and the famous Sphinx. is. A monumental statue systematically associated with this cemetery


The explanation of the Great Pyramid of Khufu is relatively simple. A four-sided pyramid with a square base and symmetrical height. What is important about this monument is the dimensions of the building, which is very important, but otherwise, it is rather classical in form and there is nothing special about it.

On the other hand, more precisely, we can show that the vertices are truncated, but they weren’t initially. It’s time to hope for this. There used to be a pyramid at the top, but it disappeared. See the site to find out what it is. There is one that came from another pyramid. In fact, it’s just the end of the pyramid. So another smaller pyramid. The monument is made of limestone blocks, so they are staggered. That is, each block is slightly set back from the block in the previous row. These blocks vary in size and shape, but their function is illogical. In other words, one might think that the largest block is downstairs and the smaller block is upstairs, but that is not the case. The fact is that the block size decreases as you go up, but after a certain level, it becomes more important and starts decreasing again. This pattern is repeated 18 times over the height of the pyramid.


For centuries, the Pyramid of Cheops remained the tallest and largest human structure in the world. With a horizontal length of 440 cubits, or 230.5 meters, he has an area of ​​5.29 hectares. The sides are not all the same length and there is a gap of a few centimeters. Originally it was 146,60 meters, although its current height is 138 meters. The cubit, the unit of time, was 440 cubits across and 280 cubits high.

As for the volume of the pyramid, it was originally 2,592 350 cubic meters with a surface area of ​​53,055 cubic meters. Although these two numbers have decreased as a result of peak erosion, the peak has still decreased by 9.58 meters.

Material origin

The pyramid uses three different materials, two limestone,s, and one granite, all made of stone, with no wooden parts or anything like that. The building blocks are limestone, apparently quarried at a local quarry right next to the site for transportation reasons. The stones used for the cladding were mined in the quarries of Tula, a city near Cairo, whose territory yields finer and brighter limestone. Finally, the base of the pyramid is made of pink granite from Aswan, along with the inner masonry blocks that form the funerary chamber and the great inner cloister.

Apothema phenomenon

The pyramid has four sides that appear to be perfectly straight, but in reality, each side is very slightly curved, following an edge that divides it into two equal parts from top to bottom. The Pyramid of Cheops has eight faces instead of four, but this feature is hardly noticeable, but can only be seen on the vernal equinox, the day when the sun’s rays graze both the north and south faces. not available. At this point, you can see that these two faces are bicolor. Half in the shade and half in the sun.

Royal women of the Mughal period and their influence

Tajmahal | taj mahal india

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *